A new Referendum Commission has been established by the Minister for Housing, Planning and Local Government. High Court Judge Ms Isobel Kennedy has been nominated as the Chairperson of the Commission.

The other members of the Commission are the Ombudsman, Mr Peter Tyndall; the Comptroller and Auditor General, Mr Seamus McCarthy; the Clerk Assistant of the Dáil, Mr Peter Finnegan; and the Clerk of the Seanad, Mr Martin Groves.